Cherokee County Sheriff's Office
Home Press Releases Registered Offenders Most Wanted Contact Us
Sign Up For Alerts!
Agency Mission
Crash Log
Crime Tips & Prevention
Inmate Bonding Info
Event Calendar
Value Statement
Inmate Roster
Hot Cases
Submit an Anonymous Tip

(620) 429-3992
(620) 848-3000

Dial 911

Email Map
915 East Country Road
P.O. Box 479
Columbus, Kansas 66725

Administrative Office Hours:
Hours: M-F 8:30am-4:30pm

2012/2013 SAFE Winners Announced


The Cherokee County S.A.F.E. (Seatbelts Are For Everyone) Program proved to be a success once again during the 2012-2013 school year!

The S.A.F.E. Program is a joint partnership between the Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office, local schools and area businesses.

Students in each school select a S.A.F.E. committee, which focuses on educating fellow high school students on the importance of buckling their safety belts when they are driving or riding as a passenger in a vehicle.

After the beginning of each school year, an initial survey is conducted by the students to get a “base line” percentage of students who wear their seatbelts.

The education phase is then implemented, which includes regular safety messages, and assemblies.  Students who wish to participate, sign a monthly pledge to wear their seatbelts.

Thanks to our great local sponsors, like Terry Bessman – State Farm Insurance in Columbus, Columbus Telephone Company, Jay Hatfield Chevrolet,  Mike Carpino Ford, Labette Bank and our state sponsors – Kansas Trauma Program, AAA of Kansas and the Kansas Department of Transportation, a drawing is conducted each month from the pledge cards signed by students.

If the student whose name is drawn has honored the pledge and wore his or her seatbelt, he or she wins a $25.00 VISA gift card.

The schools in Cherokee County choose to have a friendly competition and at the end of the school year, a final survey is conducted to see how many students are then wearing their seatbelts.

The school that has the highest increase in seatbelt usage rate and the school with the highest overall seatbelt usage rate both win Grand Prizes, which are valued at $500.00 each, and they determine how to distribute the prizes.

This year, Cherokee County High School students increased their seatbelt usage rate by nearly 17% during the S.A.F.E. program.

Grand Prize winners were Riverton High School and Columbus Unified High School.

From Columbus, Grand Prize Visa Gift Card Winners were: Lexee Zook, William Hinman, Amber Helwig, Millie Clugston, Emma Gregory, Abraham Murillo, Ben Sills and Lance King. 

From Riverton, Grand Prize Visa Gift Card Winner were: Tori Hatfield, Cheyenne Sanchez, Chad Scantlin, Kayce Potts, Terron Allen, Craig Owen, Jessica Midence, Sam Stone, Tess Hatfield and Andrew Pennington.


Media Kit
      Cherokee County Sheriff's Office | © 2010 - 2017
      Cherokee County, Kansas
Another Most Wanted Website by Brooks Jeffrey Marketing, Inc.